Home > Development, Ruby > Ruby Gem install – mkmf.rb can’t find header files for ruby problem

Ruby Gem install – mkmf.rb can’t find header files for ruby problem

December 6, 2012

Just a REALLY quick post. I’ve been seriously wanting to write a small ruby project for a long time now, and have finally been able to get a start on it. However, as I suspected, not everything is always smooth. I tried to do a gem install for some dependant libraries I’ll need, and got the following error:

System/Library/Frameworks/Ruby.framework/Versions/1.8/usr/bin/ruby extconf.rb mkmf.rb can't find header files for ruby at /System/Library/Frameworks/Ruby.framework/Versions/1.8/usr/lib/ruby/ruby.h

If you’re looking for a solution, then try the folloing:

  1. Load up xCode (assuming you have it installed)
  2. Once open, click on xCode -> Preferences -> Downloads
  3. In the list presented, click on the Command Line Tools, and install
  4. Restart
  5. Job Done!

This problem dissappeared for me, and I hope it helps whoever else experiencing this annoying problem!

Incidentally, I am using:

Mac OSX 10.8.2
Ruby Version: ruby 1.8.7 (2012-02-08 patchlevel 358) [universal-darwin12.0]

Watch this space for my first steps into the ruby world!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

